Female Class A truck driver in red vest holding tablet and checking route for new destination. In background parked truck vehicles.

If you are looking for a new career, you may be wondering what the Class A CDL requirements are. At LCL Bulk Transport, we want to discuss what endorsements are required for Class A CDL licenses so you can start a new career. This article will review the requirements to get a Class A CDL license and show you the steps you should take.

Apply to Be a Class A Driver at LCL Bulk

What are the age requirements for a CDL Class A License?

Each state has its own Class A CDL age requirements. However, in most cases, the age requirement for a CDL Class A license is 18. While this might give you a CDL Class A license, you will be restricted from traveling interstate until you are 21.

What tests are required for a Class A CDL?

For starters, you must consider the Class A CDL permit requirements because that is going to be your first test. To receive your Class A CDL permit, you will need to take a General Knowledge test, an Air Brakes test, and an exam on Combination Vehicles. From here, you need to consider the endorsements you plan to obtain. You will be required to pass written CDL endorsement tests for each one. Once completed, you will be ready for your CDL driving test. This 3-part exam involves a pre-trip inspection test, the basic control skills test, plus a driving test at your local test site.

What endorsements are required for a Class A CDL?

Endorsements are not part of the Class A CDL requirements. You don’t have to get endorsements if you don’t need them. However, with your Class A CDL, you have access to several endorsements that might help you do more jobs.

Here are the endorsements you can access as a Class A CDL license holder:

  • Hazardous Materials (H)
  • Tanker Vehicles (N)
  • Passenger Vehicles (P)
  • School Bus Transport (S)
  • Doubles and Triples (T)
  • Combination Covering Tanker & Hazardous Materials (X)

What are the medical and physical requirements for a Class A CDL?

Class A CDL physical requirements include a Medical Examiner’s Certificate (DOT card). This federally mandated document certifies that you meet the medical and physical standards to operate a commercial vehicle. Additionally, as part of the Class A CDL requirements, you must keep this original card or a photocopy with you at all times while you are driving. Why are there medical Class A CDL requirements? Being a trucker is physically demanding. From driving long hours, having irregular sleep schedules, and performing hard labor while loading or unloading, the body needs to be in optimal shape to ensure your safety and that of others.

Federal Class A CDL Requirements

Some federal Class A CDL requirements to be aware of are:

  • Drivers are not allowed to hold CDL licenses in more than one state.
  • Drivers must follow the texting prohibition rule.
  • Commercial drivers must use “authorized” medical examiners found from the National Medical Registry.

State Class A CDL Requirements

To find out what tests are required for a Class A CDL or the specific Class A CDL test truck requirements in your state, you will need to check with your local DMV. Each state sets its own laws and Class A CDL requirements.

LCL Bulk Hires CDL Class A Drivers

If you are ready to start a new career, LCL Bulk is hiring. We supply routes in the Midwest and the Northeast United States. Our Class A CDL drivers are never asked to do anything dangerous but always receive superior benefits and a competitive wage. Apply with LCL Bulk today.

Apply to Be a Class A Driver at LCL Bulk

To speak to a recruiter call:

   +1 855-525-2855

Call Now Button